Saturday, May 16, 2009

What I want to do over the summer

Other than getting a job...

Drive a nice car (perhaps a Genesis Coupe? ha, yeah right.)
Own a longboard
Play Resident Evil 5
Finally be able to play Left 4 Dead without problems and lag.
Go fishing (and catch a big fish!)
Learn to cook (yummy food)
Go somewhere nice (landscape view, buildings, restaurants, etc...)
Europe Cruise (already set for July 24th with family)

I will do the outreach next post. Promise! I have to wake up 8:20 tomorrow for HCC. and then people are coming over afterward to my house to watch Rockets. I need to prepare food for them! And I don't even know who's coming! I'm so bad at planning. I should do it more often to practice.
Hope the Rockets win! BELIEVE!!!

Tuesday, May 12, 2009

Job Searching

Today I want to talk about my Job Searching! For no reason.
Applied to Frys, La Madeline, Benihana, TGI Fridays, Cafe Express, Chipotle, Barnes & Nobles, Pei Wei, Panera Bread, and Target.

By the way, I bumped into Sean at Barnes and Noble. It was so weird. I could notice his big ol' Blackberry from a mile away. We decide to watch the Rockets at my place, so we call some people. But I forgot that I my phone in my car. I went back, and I noticed that I parked right next to Sean. I saw the Raising Cane's napkin from yesterday. SO WEIRD!!!! And Rockets got owned today. GOSH!!! 40 points??? REALLY?!



Anyways, before that I applied online to Office Depot, Academy, and Best Buy

The order of what I want to get jobs into is...
1) Barnes and Noble 2) Panera Bread 3) Frys 4) Best Buy 5) Chipotle
etc...

They said they are looking for people at Barnes & Noble! It looks very laid back and fun! I want to work there. I hope to.
Panera Bread is laid back kinda. It's a cafe where people chill and drink hazelnut coffee or eat a toasty sandwich. It looks fun.
Frys...idk looks like a bunch of shady people working. But I have to remind myself not to get discouraged by the looks! Looks don't matta!
Best Buy looks fun, but it looks really difficult to do. Don't get discouraged. Looks don't matta!
Chipotle. Not really a place I want to work (especially since its pretty near Souper Salad), but they are willing to hire. Manager actually asked me for interview Wednesday. Too bad I'm going to Austin. Should I even go to Austin?? I need to see the world, so yes.

Yeah that's all. What a pointless post. Next time I'll post about my experience in outreach in downtown San Antonio, giving free KFC to the homeless. it'll be more...pointful. more pointy. have more pointness

I'm going to Austin tomorrow. Or San Marcos then Austin. I want to see UT when there are people, I don't think I will though...Also I'm hesitating about going cause I might get an important call from stores/businesses I may miss...like Donald. "I want to be in an area with reception!!!"

Saturday, May 2, 2009

wow

I have not blogged in a while. I should be studying for the final right now. This year at UTSA has been great. You know, I have been a good person before college. I resisted drinking, i was even offered by my dad, and even when my sisters partying. Their friends asked, "What? You're not gonna drink? Wow, that's impressive." Honestly, I thought in college I could have broken it and somehow people will peer pressure me into doing it. I also cursed a lot. I thought it was normal. I stopped (or still trying not to). Thank God I have these people.
Who knows what I would've done in college. Probably become a bum, play games, not do anything fun. Thank you for the memories.
I was just a student, just hanging out with friends. Go to the rec, have fun. Get peer pressured into going to Epic. Peer Pressure works too well on me. It worked positively for me though. Beginning of the year, I always refused to go to epic, church, etc... It was a waste of time I thought. They just sing and talk about stuff I don't understand. No use. My friends start talking to me. Sean, on a late night walk home, says, "Do you believe in heaven?" I just stayed quiet. Grace, during Outreach (i had to go with her), had to do everything by herself cause i just followed her without knowing anything. She came to talk to me. I just stood quiet as well. One time during Starbucks, Alex Lee and Alex Liu were talking about relationships and related it with God. I had no idea what they were talking about. Saying random verses and such. "What do you think, Loren?" I never had a relationship with a girl. I wouldn't know. Then they took me outside and did solarium with me. They asked if i put Christ outside the circle, or if I put on the chair. I didn't want to offend them, but I also really didn't know what to believe. I said, "I don't know."
Then I hung out with them, and started to see why Epic did what they did. In a sense, I purposely didn't convert to see if my friends still viewed me differently if I wasn't Christian. If they treated me any different than others. I was testing them. They still saw me as a friend and treated me like one. And they still loved me.
They have love for Jesus. He is their savior. Yeah, they really love God.
I still need some questions that need to be answered on my own. During the summer, I hope to find one.

Oh, and people keep asking me this over and over again.
"Why do you like WALL-E so much?"
Other than being such a good movie, it especially captured my attention apart from the other Pixar Movies. I feel like I'm Wall-E, doing whatever in life. Just minding my own business and finding new games/hobbies. He finds EVE, goes on an adventure. and finally holds hands with EVE. I'm like Wall-E watching the Hello Dolly! musical on the iPod, hoping one day I will find 'her', whomever she is. I feel like I've missed so many oppurtunities. I'm like an incomplete Wall-E movie. Maybe God is telling me, not now, but later. God, give me the confidence to become a better man.
Yeah, that's why I like Wall-E :)